Cross Stitch Alphabet: Easy Digital Pattern to Sell! - Series #3

Cross Stitching the Alphabet is SUPER Easy to Design!

Okay, I must admit, when I look at creating printables, patterns, or designs, I default to the basic alphabet letters. In the cross-stitch series, this is no different.

Before I go into a brief reason, the alphabet letters are a great place to start. I want to share this four-minute video I watched about cross-stitching the alphabet letters.

From my understanding, cross-stitching is based on small little squares with designs created by passing thread through them.

Counting little squares to make the design is an art form unto itself. One of the questions I received in an email this week was, “How do you know what size to make your design for cross-stitch patterns?” Great question!!

Although I am not an expert in the mathematical conversions. I know something about spending hours “Googling” these very things! Here is a link to a great article and a conversion chart for your cross-stitch pattern process. (I’m also doing the same.)

Here are a couple of things I like about starting out designing from the letters of the alphabet.

  • You get an instant 26 designs. (one for each letter of the English alphabet - pretty cheese, I know 😀)

  • The alphabet can take on many forms in the design, from skinny-width letters to big and bulky ones where you can place elements inside the alphabet letter.

  • A single alphabet letter can be recognized for lots of things. Example: the letter of your last name, first name, or even an initial.

These are just a few fundamental reasons I can come up with on why I start with letters of the alphabet. Also, I don’t need to “draw” anything; instead, I just hit a note on the keyboard and change the size and type of font. Pretty easy, I do say!

Oh, before I close, I have a question! Have you ever considered writing an Amazon Kindle Edition book? Start searching for “Cross Stitching Kindle Pattern Books,” Let me know what you find. Here is one I discovered on “Cross Stitching Alphabet Letters on Kindle” -

Reply

or to participate.