Spoonflower? What is it? Does it make money?

Testing the market with turning digital items into print-on-demand products.

Late-night YouTube watching landed me on a channel dedicated to teaching Adobe Illustrator. Over the past year, I have referred to this channel to help me understand various simple features of using Adobe Illustrator on the iPad. (I share the video and YouTube channel at the end of this post.)

WARNING…. this post is not about Adobe Illustrator, but if you want to see the video suggested by YouTube, feel free to check it out here.

What is Spoonflower?

While watching this video, I heard the name Spoonflower, and I was forced to feed my curiosity by searching. Of course, when I search, I must send a close online friend a message “Hey…..look at this cool thingie!” My friend is so generous in letting me have my moment of sometimes filling her brain with overwhelm. (you know who you are if you read this!!)

While chatting back and forth in messages, she shares with me that she already knows this site and platform. Of course, I need to know more about what she knew! The passing of messages for about an hour lead me, and maybe her, down a rabbit hole of the possibilities of Spoonflower selling our designs and items on this platform.

Spoonflower is a Print on Demand platform and has many, MANY, different opportunities to have your designs printed on various fabric and textile materials.

Visual Discovery of Spoonflower

Physical Research on Spoonflower

Do research on this platform, and ask yourself these questions:

  1. Do I already have digital files that I can turn into a print-on-demand source of income like Spoonflower?

  2. Would I use this Spoonflower to create a product based on my design?

  3. Is adding your designs to Spoonflower helping to expand your abilities to generate income by selling digital items?

These are the three questions that I need to ask myself personally while looking at this platform.

Where do we grow from here?

Make Money on Spoonflower

The early research on Spoonflower provides the opportunity to make money on the platform. This is an excellent find of opportunity for digital files that are already created for other markets and or platforms. More importantly, this is a huge opportunity to dominate a market or niche many overlook. The best example to support this is that I had never heard of Spoonflower.

My preview of being able to sell on this platform is similar to other print-on-demand marketplaces. The commission exchange is based on the opportunity to use your designs and content. It appears to be free to set up shop, but I will need to investigate further shortly to convert that concept into facts.

Spoonflower Commission Structure

What else?

Spoonflower Search Bar Discovery

One of the most EXCITING things I discovered when diving deep into the opportunity of Spoonflower, particularly the fabric option, was … you go it, Recipe Cards.

The immediate search for “recipe cards” in fabric was an EXCITING discovery. You may be asking why? Well, because there was a proof of concept. That proof may not be in the form of “how much money” a seller is making with that type of niche but the idea that someone else is also testing the idea

.

Recipe Card Fabric Listing

In Closing

I have a lot more discovery to do with this platform. If you are like me, you have an extensive library of digital files and items that can be given another opportunity to create an income.

Print on Demand is a growing way of making income online. Spoonflower capitalizes on other areas of print-on-demand that other platforms do not. An example would be turning your designs into a fabric print. The other area that makes them unique is to be able to offer a variety of fabric choices.

As you may pick up from getting to know me, I am not well versed in the art and craft of textiles or creating products through sewing, etc. I have always been interested in the process but have never taken the time to fully pursue sitting down at a sewing machine and making products from fabric. That may now all change as I have discovered Spoonflower.

If you know more information on Spoonflower or other print-on-demand platforms like this, please share!! I would love to dive deeper into this market!

YouTube Video and Channel:

Reply

or to participate.